Dyslexic Awareness Month: An Overview

ODAM2014(1)I, Cindy Lumpkin, The LD Coach, thought it necessary to pen this blog post myself. This past month, along with millions, we celebrated October as Nation Dyslexia Awareness Month. TRIUMPH in Life, Inc. and Triumph Transitions Institute did its share to not only spread awareness, but hosted programing as well. I will take this opportunity to share what the month as been like for me personally and our wonderful organization specifically.

Students at our school started out by reading A Shout-Out for Dyslexics: The emotional

Goggle Hangout with Dyslexic Author Gina Mazzetti

Goggle Hangout with Dyslexic Author Gina Mazzetti

Side by Dyslexic author Gina Mazzetti. Our students were amazed at the similarities of their own Dyslexic stories and Gina’s. Upon finishing the book, as a graded assignment, students wrote a review on Amazon. One student’s in particular touched me:

This is a motivating story. It teaches you that nothing can stop you in this world if you want it fight for it. The story teaches you to embrace dyslexia do not run from it because it is who you are. That is my review on A Shout Out for Dyslexics. Thank you Gina for writing this story, if you didn’t inspired anybody you inspired me.~ Jeremiah

Gina Mazzetti kindly agreed to do a Google Hangout with our students. She talked about life as a Dyslexic person, shared how Dyslexia is still very much a huge part of her life and answered questions from our students. I can’t begin to explain what seeing and hearing from her did for our student’s confidence. When they are able to see everyday people living very successful lives in spite of learning challenges and weaknesses, it gives them hope for their own lives. The interview can be viewed on You Tube. It is worth watching. This was for sure a proud moment for me! Exposing our students and helping them to embrace what will be with them for the rest of their life…well, it was priceless.

We didn’t stop there! Shonte Press of Press On Enterprises, a Nutrition & Wellness Consultant stopped by to celebrate the month with us. She taught us how to “Press Our Healthy Buttons” by teaching us that what we eat has an impact on our brain functioning at its optimal level. The students viewed a live demonstration of how to make

Shonte Press

Shonte Press

a healthy green smoothie. They also sampled it and of course they loved it. Many of our students vowed to do a better job of not only eating better, but incorporating more raw fruits and veggies into their diets.

The month continued with myself and TTI volunteer, Erin Jackson, doing the Dyslexia Dash hosted by the Georgia Branch of  the International Dyslexia Association. It was my first one and I LOVED it!! Next year, we look forward to more parents and students taking part. Hack! We might just host our own. As you guys know me, the sky is our limit. I believe in this organization, the work we are doing and our students. We can do anything!

Dyslexia Dash

Dyslexia Dash

Erin & Cindy posing at the Dyslexic Dash

Erin & Cindy posing at the Dyslexic Dash

The month ended on a very personal note for me. I will do more blogging about it on my personal site, The LD Coach at a later date. However, I was able to travel to my hometown

Dyslexic Artist Thirsala Wiggins, Mrs. Bly (my former special education teacher) and me, Cindy Lumpkin, The LD Coach

Dyslexic Artist Thirsala Wiggins, Mrs. Bly (my former special education teacher) and me, Cindy Lumpkin, The LD Coach

and bring awareness about the plight of students with Dyslexia and its positive side. I was also able to honor eight current special education teachers and my very own special education teacher who changed my life. I also highlighted the ability of those with Dyslexia by featuring Dyslexic artist Thirsala Wiggings and her gift of art. There were over 100 people in attendance. Triumph in Life, Inc. made the local newspaper too. So many people were inspired and we had over $500 in donations. I am still on a high from this past month. I so need a vacation! Thank goodness Thanksgiving is around the corner.

Artwork of Thirsala. she is simply amazing.

Artwork of Thirsala. she is simply amazing.

Artwork of Thirsala. This is the other side of Dyslexia that many fail to recognize.

Artwork of Thirsala. This is the other side of Dyslexia that many fail to recognize.

Parents, supporters and our students, there is much work to be done in this area of helping students with Dyslexia reach their full potential especially those from improvised backgrounds. In the next few months, TTI will be embarking on some very lofty goals. We need all hands on deck. Please stay tuned to learn how you can help take our organization to the next level in helping some of our most vulnerable learners.

As always,

T.R.I.U.M.P.H. in Life

To Rise Is Ultimately My Purpose Hereafter

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

